Tangled Wrap Party

On Saturday, 10/16/10, I had the privilege of attending the ‘Tangled’ wrap party in L.A. The event started off with a premiere showing of the film at the El Capitan Theater and was then followed by the after party across the street at the Highlands Hollywood Nightclub. Seeing the film in a completed state was something I had looked forward to for quite awhile. Usually, my perception of each shot was limited to their lower-resolution, maya playblast counterpart – but seeing the film with all it’s bells and whistles really blew me away. (HUGE congrats to the lighting and look departments for that.) This was also an opportunity to show my fiance what I’ve been working on for the past few months and I was glad for the opportunity to show her before the official release date.

It was equally as great seeing everyone from Disney again. The sense of accomplishment for helping to complete a feature film is definitely a memorable experience but, for this film in particular, completing it with this specific group of artists is something I’ll treasure for the rest of my life.

As we ate, drank and danced our way through the night, I was fortunate enough to take a moment and reflect upon my surroundings. Around me were artists/animators who were considered the best in their field, established actors who were famous in their own right, and significant others who had the arduous task of supporting their loved ones through many late nights and long weekends. And as I realized where I was at that specific moment, I couldn’t help but feel honored for being a part of something special. ‘Tangled’ marks the 50th film in Disney’s rich repertoire and it will always hold a special place in my heart.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

